C-Hotels Excelsior

Middelkerke

Hotel Excelsior is in a prime location on the North Sea coast and is the ideal starting point for a wealth of tourist attractions and activities. Here our top 10 to help you make the most of your stay in Middelkerke.

Domein Raversijde – Atlantic Wall

A section of the old defence line that was built by the Germans to defend the coastline from invasion lies well preserved in the dunes of Raversijde. Visit these fortifications dating from the First and Second World Wars.

Cycling

Middelkerke is the ideal starting point for a cycle ride. There is a network of scenic cycle routes for young and old that take you along the coast and through the dunes and polders.

Villa Les Zephyrs

Inside this seaside villa you will find the original interior designed by the famous Art Nouveau architect Henri Van de Velde. In this small museum you can experience a typical family holiday setting of the 1930s.

Kusthistories (coastal history museum)

The ‘Kusthistories’ museum is an absolute ‘must do’. It takes you back in time through the history of coastal tourism along the Belgian coast. Today, a holiday by the sea is commonplace. But this hasn’t always been the case. Here you can enjoy a display of bygone bathing fashion, souvenirs, an old tram, pedal cars, unique film clips, fine decors and so much more. 

Yser Estuary Nature Reserve

The mudflats and salt marshes of the Yser Estuary are teeming with life. A rich variety of algae and seaweed thrive here. These microscopic plants strengthen the mud flats thereby enabling plant species such as samphire to grow. Underwater life is a rich collection of shellfish, worms, slugs, crustaceans, etc. At low tide, some areas dry up creating salt marshes where many plant species grow. These marshes also attract wading birds such as curlews, dunlins and oyster catchers that come for their daily feed.

Middelkerke Comic Town

Middelkerke can certainly call itself the comic town of Flanders: along the seafront you will find bronze statutes of Flanders most famous comic heroes, there is an annual comic festival and during the summer there is a huge comic character maze.

Nature walks through the Warande dunes

The dune area between Middelkerke and Westende is over 32.6 hectares in size. It lies right next to the sea and is a narrow dune belt that is 2.2 km long and 185m wide. The area is managed by Natuurpunt who ensure that this precious natural resource is preserved.

Along the metalled footpaths you can enjoy a magnificent view of the reserve. If you would like to learn more, you can take part in guided walks during the summer months. The walks set out from the water tower in Middelkerke. 

The beach and seafront promenade

Enjoy the stunning sunsets, sunbathe on the beach in fine weather or cycle on a go-cart along the promenade. The beach and the sea offer something for everyone.

Themed weekends in Middelkerke

Various themed weekends are organized in Middelkerke throughout the year:
Fish weekend
Beer weekend
Agricultural weekend
Autumn weekend
Champagne weekend

These weekends are always a great success and involve a wide range of activities.

Middelkerke Casino

The finest casino in Belgium invites you to visit. The Baccara Hall is a unique setting for numerous musical performances and other events. The ‘Il Circo’ restaurant is the perfect venue for a delicious gastronomic meal or an enjoyable night out. Of course, you can also place a bet in the Casino. Apart from the traditional casino games such as Blackjack, Roulette or Casino Stud Poker, you can also try your luck on one of the slot machines.

C-Hotels Excelsior

Middelkerke

L’Hôtel Excelsior dispose d’une situation idéale à la mer du nord et est un bon point de départ pour de nombreuses attractions et activités. Voici notre top 10 personnel qui pourra vous inspirer pendant votre séjour à Middelkerke.

Domaine Raversijde – Atlantikwall

Dans les dunes bien conservées de Raversijde, une partie de l'ancienne ligne de défense, construite par les Allemands à l'époque pour protéger le continent contre l'invasion.

Vélo

Middelkerke est le point de départ parfait pour une balade à vélo. Les pistes cyclables sont sublimes, que ce soit le long des digues ou dans les dunes, conviennent à tous les âges

Villa Les Zephyrs

Cette villa a été décorée par le célèbre architecte Art Nouveau, Henry Van de Velde. Ce petit musée vous plonge dans les vacances d'une famille des années 30 du siècle dernier.

Kusthistories

Le musée « Kusthistories » est vraiment à voir ! Vous y découvrirez l’histoire du tourisme côtier de la côte belge. Aujourd’hui, il est tout à fait normal de passer ses vacances à la mer, mais il n’y a pas très longtemps, c’était tout autre chose. L’ancienne mode, les souvenirs, un vieux tram, des charriots, des films uniques, de magnifiques décors et bien plus encore.

Domaine naturel de l’embouchure de l‘Yser

Les marais littoraux de l’embouchure de l’Yser grouillent de vie. Les diatomées, Cyanobactéries et algues vertes y prospèrent. Ces plantes microscopiques capturent la boue et permettent à d’autres espèces de plantes de pousser. Le royaume sous-marin est une collection hétéroclite de coquillages, vers, escargots, crustacés, etc. À marée basse, certaines régions deviennent sèches. C’est là que surgissent les marais qui sont envahis par les plantes. Mais des oiseaux tels que le courlis, le bécasseau et l’huîtrier y élaborent leurs repas.

Middelkerke, ville de la BD

Middelkerke peut assurément garder son titre de capitale de la BD en Flandre : sur la digue, les célèbres héros des BD flamandes ont été immortalisés dans le bronze. Tous les ans, le festival de la BD y a lieu et durant l’été, il y a un grand labyrinthe avec des personnages de BD.

Promenades dans la nature au milieu des dunes

Les dunes entre Middelkerke et Westende s’étendent sur plus de 32,6 hectares. Elles sont proches de la mer et forment une ceinture de dunes de 2,2 km de longueur sur 185 m de largeur. Natuurpunt en est le gestionnaire et s’assure que la richesse initiale reste intacte.

Le long des chemins pavés, vous avez une belle vue sur la réserve. Si vous voulez en savoir davantage, Natuurpunt organise de belles visites guidées en été. Le point de reconnaissance n’est autre que le château d'eau de Middelkerke.

La plage et la digue

Profitez d’un magnifique coucher de soleil, d’un bain de soleil quand il fait beau ou d’une promenade en cuistax sur la digue. La plage et la mer savent comment vous plaire.

Weekends à thème à Middelkerke

Tous les ans, plusieurs weekends à thème sont organisés à Middelkerke :
Weekend du poisson
Weekend de la bière
Weekend agricol
Weekend automnal
Weekend du Champagne

Ces weekends rencontrent toujours un franc succès et regorgent de chouettes activités.

Casino de Middelkerke

Le plus agréable casino de Belgique vous invite à lui rendre visite.
La salle Baccara est le décor unique de nombres de spectacles musicaux et d’autres événements. Le restaurant ‘Il Circo’ est le décor parfait pour un délicieux repas gastronomique ou une bonne soirée. Evidemment, on peut aussi se rendre au Casino pour jouer. En plus des jeux dits classiques, tels que le Blackjack, la Roulette ou le Casino  Stud Poker, vous pourrez aussi tenter votre chance aux machines à sous.